Traditional Affairs


This structure is at local municipal level. There are currently 12 Traditional Councils, namely;

Batlokoa ba Mokotleng (QwaQwa)

  • Phomolong Traditional Council
  • Thibella Traditional Council
  • Dinkoeng Traditional Council

Bakoena ba Mopeli (QwaQwa)

  • Thaba Bosiu Traditional Council
  • Thaba Tsoeu Traditional Council
  • Matsieng Traditional Council
  • Bolata Traditional Council
  • Namahadi Traditional Council
  • Monontsha Traditional Council
  • Mabolela Traditional Council

Barolong boo Seleka (Thaba Nchu)

  • Barolong boo Seleka Traditional Council

Makholokoe (Harrismith)

  • Kholokoe Traditional Council

Batlokoa ba Mokgalong (Vrede)

Not yet established because they currently do not have the area of jurisdiction.


Traditional Councils are constituted as follows;

  • 60% of the council is selected by the senior traditional leaders
  • 40% is democratically elected by members of the community through a ballot or any other applicable election method
  • One-third of those elected should be women


The term of office of the Traditional Council is 5 years.


Councils are mainly responsible for:

  • Administering  the  affairs  of  the traditional  community  in  accordance with customs  and  tradition
  • Assisting, supporting and  guiding traditional  leaders in  the performance of their functions
  • Supporting municipalities in the identification  of  community needs
  • Facilitating the involvement of the tradition al community in the development or amendment of the integrated development plan of a municipality in whose area that community resides.
  • Recommending, after consultation  with the relevant local and provincial houses of traditional leaders, appropriate interventions to government that will contribute to  development and service delivery  within  the  area  of jurisdiction of  the traditional  council.
  • Participating in the development of  policy and legislation  at  local level.
  • Participating  in development  programmes  of  municipalities  and of the Provincial and national spheres of government.
  • Promoting  the  ideals  of  co-operative  governance, integrated development planning, sustainable development and service delivery.
  • Promoting  indigenous  knowledge  systems  for  sustainable development and  disaster  management.
  • Alerting  any  relevant  municipality  to any  hazard or  calamity  that threatens  the  area of  jurisdiction  of  the  traditional  council  in  question, or the well-being  of  people  living  in such area of  jurisdiction,  and contributing to  disaster  management  in  general.
  • Sharing  information  and  co-operating  with other traditional  councils.
  • Performing  the  functions  conferred  by  customary  law, customs and statutory law  consistent with  the  Constitution

Section 81 of the Municipal Structures Act No. 117 of 1998 enjoins 20% of traditional leaders to participate in municipal councils.

Local Houses of Traditional Leaders

This structure, anticipated to be at the same level as District Municipalities, is yet to be developed.